Crutchlow storms to victory in Australia

MCE Insurance Cal Crutchlow has become the first British rider in history to win in Australia in any MotoGP class, conquering Phillip Island and joining an elite list of British riders who have won more than one race in the premier class in a single season (Leslie Graham, Geoff Duke, John Surtees, Mike Hailwood, Phil Read and Barry Sheene).

It looked to be Marc Marquez's race who led in the early stages, however Crutchlow began to chase down the Repsol rider who crashed out soon after - the first time this year for the newly crowned World Champion.

From here on out Crutchlow set the pace and managed his tyres fantastically and cruised to victory ahead of Valentino Rossi and Maverick Vinales who made up the podium.

Dovizioso finished fourth, followed by Pol Espargaro and Jorge Lorenzo. Scott Redding finished eighth followed by fellow Brit Bradley Smith. Petrucci, Miller and Bradl completed the top ten.

23.10.2016 - Big Ed

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn


Comment Not found

Submit new comment