Crutchlow wins Torrens Trophy

MCE Insurance Cal Crutchlow has been awarded the Torrens Trophy by the Royal Automobile Club today, only the tenth time the prestigious trophy has been awarded since it began back in 1979. The Brit will join the likes of Shane 'Shakey' Byrne, Tom Sykes and most recently Ian Hutchinson who received the award just last year for his incredible 2015 return to the Isle of Man TT.

Crutchlow became the first British rider since Barry Sheene to win a GP in the premier class last year, ending a 35 year long wait. He was able to return to the top step at Phillip Island later in the year and in the process became the first-ever British winner at the Australian GP.

Crutchlow said: 'I feel very privileged that the Royal Automobile Club considers me worthy of it. It's taken a long time, and a lot of hard work, and it's an honour to be recognised by such well-respected industry figures.'

Barrie Baxter, Chairman of the Torrens committee said: 'Cal Crutchlow is one of the most fearless riders in MotoGP. Last season, Crutchlow became the first Brit to win a premier-class race since Barry Sheene in 1981 when he triumphed in the Czech Grand Prix at Brno. It gives me great pleasure to present the 2016 Torrens Trophy to Cal in recognition of his outstanding achievement.'

24.01.2017 - Big Ed

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn


Comment Not found

Submit new comment