Dunlop takes Supersport victory

MCE Insurance Michael Dunlop has rocketed to victory in the first Isle of Man TT Supersport race with a 13 second margin over James Hillier (JG Speedfit Kawasaki), with Peter Hickman (Trooper Beer Smiths Triumph) completing the podium.

Dunlop's sixth win in the class has been a while coming, his last victory on Supersport machinery was back in 2014 and after being forced to retire whilst leading the Superbike race yesterday he'll be pleased to return to the top step.

It was Hillier who had the early lead, but Dunlop gradually worked at closing the gap and was in front by Ramsay. A strong pit stop from Hillier narrowed Dunlop's lead, but by the end of lap three the Ulsterman had created a substantial gap that continued to grow until the chequered flag.

William Dunlop occupied the final podium spot until Peter Hickman snatched it on lap three and secured his second ever podium finish, his second in two days.

Ian Hutchinson, dominant in the last four Supersport races finished in fifth, with Gary Johnson and Bruce Anstey behind. Dan Kneen, Conor Cummins and James Cowton completed the top ten.

05.06.2017 - Big Ed

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn


Comment Not found

Submit new comment