McGuinness awarded prestigious RAC Segrave trophy

MCE Insurance John McGuinness has today been awarded the prestigious RAC Segrave Trophy, acknowledging his success at the Isle of Man TT with an astounding 23 victories in his career.

The Trophy has been awarded to just eight motorcycle racers since 1939 - Geoff Duke (1951), Barry Sheene MCE (1977, 1974), Mike Hailwood GM MBE (1979), Steve Webster (1991), Carl Fogarty MBE (1994), Joey Dunlop (2000 posthumously) and John Surtees (2012).

Tom Purves, Chairman of the Royal Automobile Club said: 'It is our honour to salute John's career and his remarkable success, particularly at the Isle of Man TT where he became the first rider to achieve an average speed of over 130 mph and, in 2015, set a new outright lap record of 132.701 mph.

'Lady Segrave commissioned the Trophy in 1930, soon after her husband, Sir Henry Segrave died after breaking the water speed record on Lake Windermere. It was her wish that the Trophy would celebrate and encourage those individuals who demonstrated outstanding skill and courage, whether on land, sea or in the air. As one of Britain's greatest motorcycle racers of his generation, John's bravery and sheer speed are the exact qualities Lady Segrave wished to celebrate.'

McGuinness said upon receiving the trophy: 'I'm absolutely honoured to receive this prestigious award. It's something a little different and I'm definitely in good company when you look back at the motorcycling greats who have previously received this, with the likes of Geoff Duke, Barry Sheene and Joey Dunlop.

'The award has been running since 1930 and I have massive respect for everyone who has been a part of its history and I am so proud to now have my name alongside some of my heroes.'

31.03.2016 - MCE Insurance

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn