Round 5 - MCE British Superbike Championship - Snetterton - Race One

MCE Insurance Jason O'Halloran has become the sixth different race winner in the 2016 MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship as he pipped his Honda teammate to the line following a dramatic race.

The first lap was one of the most action packed in recent history. Byrne got the hole shot and led the chasing pack. However as the riders got to Montreal chaos ensued as several riders tangled up, ending Ellison's, Cooper's and Parkes' race prematurely. Christian Iddon was also tangled up and dropped back a number of places.

As the spectators focused on that action, further drama was happening a corner later, with title favourites Haslam and Byrne going for the same line into Palmers, of which Byrne came off worse and ran wide and ended up second to last.

As this was unfolding O'Halloran, Linfoot and Haslam were up at the front and battling it out for the top spot.

Hickman and Laverty crashed out following a technical problem from Irwin that forced them wide.

As the two Honda riders traded places it became clear that as long as neither rider pushed too hard it would be a Honda victory - it was made all the more special as neither rider has ever stood on the top step of the MCE BSB.

Byrne put in an incredible performance and took no prisoners as he carved his way through the pack. The Ducati had over half a second a lap on the rest of the grid in qualifying so there was no surprises when Byrne overtook Haslam and managed to secure himself a third place finish.

The Honda Racing duo at the front had a fantastic battle of which O'Halloran came out on top, Linfoot looked like he had things under control on the last lap, but had a huge moment at Murrays, O'Halloran was able to capitalise and crossed the line just 0.2s ahead of his teammate.

A very special mention to Billy McConnell for securing fourth place, a fantastic performance from the FS-3 Racing Kawasaki team. Haslam finished fifth.

The rest of the top ten was made up of Jake Dixon (another exceptional performance), Luke Mossey, Tommy Bridewell, Stuart Easton and Lee Jackson.

10.07.2016 - Big Ed

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn


Comment Not found

Submit new comment